All Party Parliamentary Group on Microfinance

About the APPG

All Party Parliamentary Groups (APPGs) exist to focus Parliamentary attention and activity on a specific issue. APPG membership is restricted to Members of the House of Commons and House of Lords, but other interested parties, such as non-governmental organisations, academics and practitioners, may be invited to attend meetings.

The Co-Chairs of the APPG on Microfinance are Annette Brooke MP (pictured right), Harriett Baldwin MP, and Lord Boateng. The Vice-Chairs are Mary Macleod MP and Stephen Lloyd MP.

A full register of APPGs can be accessed here.

Since being established by Annette Brooke MP in 2002 the APPG on Microfinance has become a leading forum for Parliamentarians, practitioners, academics and non governmental organisations interested in microfinance. The work of the APPG is both strategic and vital, to develop greater awareness and support for microfinance as a key development tool, reaching the poorest and most marginalised people in society.

Purpose of the APPG:

Activities include:

The Secretariat of the APPG on Microfinance is provided on a part-time basis by RESULTS Education, a non-profit citizen’s advocacy organisation and registered charity (charity number 101528), which works to end extreme poverty.

Copyright © 2007-10 RESULTS Education

by Ferrer Consulting Ltd